Which is a note of music

to read music

Actually, the notes get their names in ascending order from the beginning of the alphabet. There are seven different root tones, so only the first seven letters are used:

a - b - c - d - e - f - g

Unfortunately, there is a little catch: In German, the note that should actually be "b" is "h". There is also a "b" grade, but that's a different story.

So the seven root tones are called:

a - h - c - d - e - f - g

As is well known, the G clef (treble clef) determines where the g lies in the notation system. So it looks like this:

After the "g" it continues with the "a" and the whole series of notes is repeated, but eight notes higher.
When the notes are projected onto a piano keyboard, you can see how the key combination repeats itself on the piano (red X) according to the note names.

Because the C major scale is so important in learning the basics, it is beneficial to memorize it:


If there is enough confidence in reading the previous eight notes, there may also be the desire to go a step further. When another seven notes are added, the treble clef staff is pretty full.

However, it is noticeable that all the note names are present several times. If one speaks of the note "c", it is not clear which one: the lower, the middle, or the upper.

That is why all note names have an addition. The note name for the lower "c" is given a small dash on the upper right-hand side and is now called the stroked c, the note name for the middle "c" is given two dashes in the same way and is now called a two-dashed c, and the note name for that upper "c" receives three dashes and is now called three-dash c.

All note names between the "streaked c" and the "double-struck c" now get one line, the note names between the "double-struck c" and the "three-struck c" get two lines. In this way, each note now has its own name and can no longer be confused.


Learn to read the bass clef